Write about the following topic:

There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Students nowadays are under increasing pressure to achieve academic success in order to get into a good university or secure a well-paid job. For this reason, some people argue that schools need to focus on academic subjects and non-academic subjects should therefore not be taught. I would argue that while academic skills are important, schools need to teach a wide range of both academic and more skills-based subjects.

Firstly, not only should school be about teaching academic skills but also a wider range of life skills so that students can take an active part in society upon leaving school. Practical subjects can help to teach these skills to students. For example, physical education teaches students both how to work as part of a team and also the importance of being healthy. Furthermore, if cookery is taught then students will learn a great deal about health and nutrition.

Secondly, academic subjects are not equally important for all students. There is the possibility of including more vocational non-academic subjects on the syllabus like woodwork, textile design, and computing skills. By studying these subjects, students will increase their employment prospects and be better placed to secure employment when leaving school. It is important to remember that not all students will continue to higher education and school needs to enable these students to find work.

Finally, too much pressure should not be placed on students. Taking part in non-academic subjects like art, music or drama gives students the opportunity to be creative. This could help them to manage stress levels and be more productive in other areas.

In conclusion, I would argue that although academic subjects are very important, this should not be the sole focus of a school syllabus. There are a number of benefits to teaching students non-academic subjects