Write about the following topic:

Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Stepping into the 21st century when human beings are entitled to a wide range of chances to improve the standard of living, technology has been arousing people around the world’s concern. As a matter of fact, it is a dilemma of whether computers are a vital invention or not. As far as I am concerned, the result of this innovation is aligned with specific circumstances.

There is no denying that the advent of the computer derives numerous advantages, among which the primary one is that it is more likely to access a range of cutting-edge knowledge. This is because higher is the speed that netizens can connect with the global village to converse or engage in worldwide communication as well as gain know-how from the latest news. For instance, it is unlikely uncommon for multinational companies organizing distance-conferences on different online services, thereby creating an efficient result with flexible time and less complementary process. Another merit which should be cited is that the labour-saving machines can not only alleviate the flawed products but also boost productivity. As a result, the computer is a profound contribution to benefits.

Having said that, the aforementioned arguments can also be considered from the opposite angle, countless detrimental outcomes are attributed to the computing-related use. Firstly, computer users might be offensive when dealing with security issues and cybercrimes due to a host of significant information being fringed and used for deleterious purposes. Secondly, overusing the hi-tech devices takes its tolls on the physical health of individuals. In other words, they indulging into the virtual world are less likely take up exercise that leads to severe diseases such as nearsightedness and obesity.

In light of these facts, the introduction of computers has its demerits and merits, thus, the significance of it relies on distinct conditions.