Write a cause and effect essay that focuses on the reasons (causes) for the food trend called “locally grown food”.

The demand for nutritious food is becoming more and more strict. Rumors are having a tendency to consume healthier food and do more exercises. Therefore, food which is locally grown has turned out to be one of the best options because of its anti-chemical feature and friendliness to the environment.

Firstly, locally grown foods are fresher than industrial ones because they are made without any interference from chemicals such as pesticides and preservatives. It can be seen that foods which are made to export always contain a large amount of preservatives to keep them at the shiny appearance or stay ripe longer. This can explain why vegetables, fruits and meats at supermarkets usually look appealing and attractive through a glance. While self-grown products seem to be more natural, they are brought to the stands right after being finished processing. People visiting farmers’ stores can even touch or taste those organic foods, and they can feel the true flavor or freshness of fruits that have just been harvested.

Secondly, purchasing and consuming local products also help protect the environment. If people can create their own farms and trade products, the number of transporting vehicles will significantly decrease. Therefore, air pollution issues may go downhill because consumers no longer need to travel to supermarkets and search for their necessary items. On the other hand, farmers having a small-scale farm can even raise small animals such as earthworms to enhance the earth's quality and productivity. Not only do they produce clean and healthy foods, they can maintain the environmental diversity.

To summarize, adapting to locally grown food is being widely supported. Choosing good foods means aiming for better living conditions, and also giving a hand to taking care of the environment. Therefore, people will raise general awareness, have higher standards for food selections, and become interested in farming.