WRITING TASK 2 :

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task

Write about the following topic:

Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of the public heath, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or

experience.

Write at least 250 words.

These days, there have been widely differing views on the issue of whether smoking should be prohibited in society. Some people believe that it is their right to smoke and that forbidding cigarettes would be a breach of civil liberties. Nevertheless, I would contend that tobacco should be banned for the sake of a better community. The justifications for this are twofold.

First and foremost, it is an irrefutable fact that smoking is detrimental to humans’ physical and mental health. To embark on, cigarettes are assumed to contain highly addictive ingredients like nicotine, which are responsible for such fatal ailments as lung cancer, cardiovascular diseases, and so on. In other words, while smoking brings about relaxation and entertainment in the short term, its long-term effect will be significantly negative. On top of that, if heavy smokers are short of money, they are more likely to go to great lengths, including committing criminal activities, to satisfy their addiction, which causes unrest in society.

Further and even more importantly, though, prohibiting tobacco products would be beneficial to public health. Some may stick to conservative views that the choice to smoke or not is a form of human right. However, this is selfish as non-smokers would suffer from smoking fumes in the atmosphere, also known as passive smoking. Besides, despite the considerable revenue a country gains from taxes on tobacco products, the medical treatment costs a smoker requires are even greater and no one but the government is responsible for covering these costs. Therefore, it is advisable that smoking be forbidden in order for the government to save money for allocating in other fields.

By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position that the disadvantages of smoking outweigh the benefits and that the prohibition of smoking is considered crucial in the foreseeable future.