You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Music is played in every society and culture in the world today.

Some people think that music brings only benefits to individuals and societies. Others, however, think that music can have a negative influence on both.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

In modern world, music plays a vital role both in the society and on an individual life. Music comprises a major part in any culture as well. To some, music is a emotion played in tunes; but many views the destructive message music can bring.

According to psychology, music can elevate our moods. Happy songs can remind us of pleasent times and sad songs can ruin our days. Good, happy and vibing music can be heard in gatherings like birthday party or wedding ceremony. Even in the earlier times, the opera was enjoyed by most elites. Composers like Beathovan, Brams, Bach have presented us with new and more enjoyable music throughout history. In the time of kings, their tale of wars and achievement was sung in tune. So, in a sense, the effect of music is as old as time itself. But can music become a negative influence?

Firstly, if we do an YouTube search, we will find many songs that are of degratory nature. From the lyrics to the video itself is full of humiliating words and scenes toward a race or a gender. This type of songs can brainwash any person into hating individuals for their skin colour or their sexuality.

Secondly, in today's world, the internet can grant us access to anything and this includes the quality of music we expose ourselves to. In this particular decade, we will found the new generation who have no idea about the talents in their own culture but enjoys music, plays or literature from other countries. Music from the USA, Korea, Japan can be heard in many stores of Bangladesh. Although this does not affect any particular person, but has the capability to destroy the entire music industry of our country.

Fortunately, we should not worry because the song producers of the world has wake up. They are writing songs that will enrich the mind and heart of the young generation.