You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Today, modern society is generating an increasing amount of waste and the waste management has become one of the pressing issues both in developing and developed countries. This essay will discuss further on the reason for the rise in rubbish and what governments could to curtail wastes produced in the following paragraphs with examples.

Firstly. the global population has reached a staggering seven billion recently. Solid waste is a by-product of this phenomenon, a major cause for the rise in the amount of wastes nowadays. In addition, industrial wastes have also bulked to cater to the growing population. Thus, rise in number of people has a direct impact on the wastes produced. For instance, an average individual produces 2.6 pounds of wastes daily extrapolating it to the global level will yield an alarming 18 billion pounds of wastes. Furthermore, with increasing market demand the population number is expected to balloon to nine billion by 2050 triggering further increase in rubbish

This unsavory problem has taken center stage as the world focused on tackling waste management issue. One way that the government can help alleviate this burden on the environment is by educating the culprits – the general public. By promoting the use of reusable bags when shopping, the number of plastic bags can be greatly reduced. Also, the government can run advertisements and put up posters in ways that a household can reduce the trash it generates. Another step that the government may undertake is through sound recycling. For example, the government of Sweden has invested in technology to measure citizens carbon footprints and has also invested in the infrastructure such as recycle bins within 300 meters of residential areas to easy people’s efforts. The positive carbon footprints are rewarded monthly which is a tremendous success.

In conclusion, it is a fact that the human population and industrialization will continue to rise. For the world’s natural resources remain sustainable, the governments around the world and the public must cooperate to arrest the ever-present problem of growing rubbish.