Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same as as adults who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people often argue that youth crimes should be considered as similarly as adults crimes. While I agree with that viewpoint to a certain extent, I strongly believe that governments should not apply this punishment policy.

On the one hand, young people who engage in criminal activities should be received the same punishment as grown-up people in some major crimes such as: murder, rapes. Firstly, if juvenile delinquents were not penalized in the same way as normal people, it would be unjustifiable towards not only the victims but also other criminals. Secondly, children are easily influenced by their peers who commit crimes and set them as bad role models. For example, a high school student tends to imitate his or her friend’s juvenile offenders.

On the other hand, the harsh punishment for crimes among young adults can have pernicious impacts, especially for petty crimes. The primary reason for this viewpoint is that youngsters do not have enough sufficient intellects and moral capacity to be fully aware of the consequences of their actions as adults. Besides, they lack the conditions to be trial defendants as grown-up people. Therefore, they should be given the second chance to rehabilitate with the help of community services by some ways including being educated school curriculum and being informed about the choices of job opportunities. This would result in the fact that young re-offenders will stand higher chances of making contribution to the whole society.

In conclusion, I believe that children taking part in criminal activities should be treated similarly with adults in case of serious crimes, not minor crimes.