01/10/2017Popular events like to football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is generally believed that patriotism can be expressed in a peaceful way and bilateral relations among nations improved by organizing sports meets involving popular sports such as football, cricket, rugby and the like. This essay agrees with this notion. Firstly, this essay will shed some light on the fact that sporting events are a characteristic of superior civilization and secondly discuss how such occasions signify amiability in international relations.

Sports events are a means to generate and release strong emotions in the populace in a more or less chivalrous way. Sports have evolved from the cradle of civilization; the very nature of sports portray freedom, charisma, control, perseverance, spirit, and grace. As such, the international games tournaments are the forebearer of the message of peace, allowing nations to compete fiercely for victory while at the same time accepting defeat with humility and respect. For example, in this year's Twenty-over Cricket World Cup, India lost to Pakistan in the final match which was a nerve-wrecking clash between the two teams. Although, frustrated by the loss, Indians congratulated the Pakistanis for their win and took home valuable lessons from the game in order to bounce back in the future. It was a spectacular show of maturity from the Indians, there was no bad blood involved.

International games can be observed as a gesture of goodwill among nations that can pave the way for stronger bilateral ties in the future. They provide a joint platform where people can come together and cheer for their country releasing all their patriotic fervour. The host nation has a duty to make its guests comfortable and the visitors can enjoy the hospitality that is offered. In this way, such occasions serve the purpose of improving international relations and defusing tensions. Therefore sports events are undoubtedly a step in the positive direction for the betterment of bilateral ties between the nations involved. A fitting example is the resumption of dialogue between once bitter rivals India and Pakistan after the Cricket World Cup that was hosted by India this year.

In conclusion, it is fair to say that sporting events between nations are gestures of paramount significance that are symbolic of amiability in mutual relations and continuation of peace process.