04/11/2017 Nowadays people usually retire at the age of 60 or 65, but some want to keep working as long as they can. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give you own opinion and relevant examples.

Although many people have a possibility to retire at the age of 60-65, they prefer to continue working as long as they can. Below some merits and drawbacks of the trend will be discussed and author’s opinion will be given.

On the one hand, this development has some positive facets. Statistically, those senior citizens who continue working have a greater longevity and more satisfied with their lives than those who decided to quit their jobs. Apparently, visiting a workplace and fulfilling some duties allows the elderly to use their brains and socialize with other employees. Furthermore, using a labor of old people is beneficial for companies because usually the discussed individuals are highly educated, have a lot of relevant expertise and practical knowledge about a job performed. In other words, they are highly productive, efficient and reliable workers. Those are several advantageous aftermaths of the trend.

On the other hand, the working people who are aged 60 and above create some problems to the society. Firstly, young people who finish college or university struggle to find their first job because workplaces are being occupied by old people. The Economist reports the rate of unemployment among young adults in Italy, Spain and France is about 32 percent. The experts state not enough now jobs are being created and existing ones are held by staff members aged above 60. Secondly, the existing trend has an adverse impact on the speed of integrating innovations and computer technologies in a workplace. In average, old people do not like working with novel equipment that requires them to learn new skills and knacks. In fact, psychologists and physiologists demonstrate that senior citizens are unable to absorb a large volume of new information in a short period of time. Thus, the trend has some dire disadvantages for the society.

In my opinion, to preserve merits and avoid creating shortages, old people should work in the social sector as caregivers; in this case, young people will be employed, businesses will prosper and old people will socialize and feel they are needed.