TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Should school educators reveal their social and political views to their pupils? Although some people may give a positive answer on the question asked, I am prone to disagree with it. The reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, speaking up about teacher's political and social views is unethical. An educator is a professional whose job is to share his knowledge with the students and help them to understand the subject. A teacher is a part of a system of education which was designed to influence children; any teacher has all needed means to impose his viewpoint on students. Usually those means are employed to teach and educate pupils and a teacher who starts to speak about his political and social views will misuse the given powers. In other words, the teacher will violate ethical norms of the profession.

Secondly, revealing educator's prospect on political and social issues may have a negative effect on students' psychological health. Today’s school embraces children who belong to different cultures, nationalities, genders, sexual orientation and adhere to a various confessions. They all study together and the school classes are like the second home for them; however, if a teacher openly speaks about his prospect on political and social issues, there is a possibility of a conflict between students and their mentor. For instance, the one may be a xenophobe or a racist and his students may feel anxiety and depression because of it. The pupil may start to feel rejected and hated at school and those feelings might lead to a grave psychological problems and decreasing their school performance.

Admittedly, there are some reasons which may allow a person to state that making teacher's political and social prospects is a good idea. Chiefly, the one may aver that revealing the personal views on some political or social issues may create a kind of honest and even intimate relationships between an educator and the pupils. However, I still buttress the stance that teacher's personal views on the issues which are not connected with the studied subjects should not be spoken about. In fact, the main goal of any teacher is to educate his listeners and an attempt to create informal relationships with students seems to be quite irrelevant to the purpose set. It seems that such a teacher may use his power and position for satisfying his needs.

To warp up, teachers ought not to make known their political and social point of view inasmuch as it is unethical and harmful for students' psychological health.