7
In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays
than in the past.
Do you think this is a positive or negative development?
There are countries where more people are deciding to live by themselves than they
did in the past. This essay would argue that this is a positive development because
these people’s actions are not restricted by their housemates, and when people live
alone, it helps a country’s economy.
When people live alone, they don’t need to accommodate others who are living with
them. This can reduce the stress of having to resolve any confusion that may occur
due to people having different ideas of how a house should be maintained, and it
can help them to save time by not having to wait for others to finish using
appliances or equipment that they need to use. For example, the Guardian reported
that families of four or more take an extra 20 minutes on average to get ready in the
morning than a person who lives alone.
As well as that, a country’s economy will grow if more people are living alone. This is
because these people are no longer sharing bills and therefore more money is being
spent. Also, to avoid loneliness, these people tend to get out of the house more
often and engage in social activities with their friends and family, which results in
more spending and aids the development of the economy even further. For instance,
a survey carried out at University of Tokyo found that students who stayed in one-bedroom
accommodation were 37% more likely to go out in the evenings than those
who lived in shared accommodation.
In conclusion, the increasing trend of people living alone is beneficial as these
individuals have freedom from the stresses of sharing accommodation with others,
and it creates more spending, which is good for the economy.