Advertising is all around us, it is an unavoidable part of everyone's life, some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives while others say it is a negative one, Discuss both views and include your own opinion.

In today's modern world, advertising plays a significant role in people's lives influencing the minds and making individuals think in the way the market expects. Some people believe that advertising plays a positive role in encouraging an economic development. Others, who disagree, insist that advertising is very aggressive and tries to control people's behaviour and style of living. This essay will discover all pros and cons of the so-called market engine and includeв by my own view of the subject.

From the positive perspective, nobody can deny that advertising allows people to learn more about some new goods and services coming up to the market and can help people save their money. For example, watching advertising in print and media carefully people may have a chance to buy the products they really need with a huge discount, invest money into the new profitable project etc. Moreover, the promotional campaigns play the conspicuous role in the creation of the diversity of media content we see on TV paying for the right of demonstration new films and shows. After all, some people who have their own websites on the Internet may put banners' on their pages and receive some money increasing their remuneration and so do I.

However, the negative side of advertising should be taken into consideration as well. It is no secrets that all those banners, posters and other kinds of promotion materials try to control people's' minds' and behaviour. This is particularly dangerous for young people who cannot resist the offers of new modern goods and spend an enormous amount of money in order to seem wealthy and fashionable. In this case, advertising seems to be more harmful than useful for refocuses people efforts to consumption instead of, for example, self-development, relationships, and а building of the perfect career.

To sum up, as we shift from having a market economy to becoming a market society where everything is for sale and market value dominate all sides of our life, advertising, in my opinion, plays a rather positive role in people's lives. The point is it should be well-balanced with others aspects of social life; in this case, the negative effect will be decreased.