Agree or disagree: keep older friends or make new ones

The time one spends with other people is one the most crucial periods in life; as communication leads one to learn lots of diverse experiences and shape the ensuing life. Hence, one of the highly controversial issues among many individuals is whether to stay with older friends or to make new friends. As far as I am concerned, in a state of ambivalence, I might lean toward being with older friends. Conceivably, some people believe that we should find new friends, however, many reasons such as strong relationship and reliability, which are paramount points in friendship, can declare the higher beneficiary of keeping older friends. I will interpret my response in the following essay.

First, strong relationships with others are advantageous due to the valuable interactions that included strong bonds. Doubtlessly, such interactions help to broaden the friendship and learn divergent aspects of a friend. Consequently, this will enrich one’s communication. To build strong bonds one needs to learn many aspects of another person; aspects such as the behavior, family relationships, favorites, etc. which cannot be learned in a brief amount of time. Granted these pieces of information contribute to the strength of a relation, but short relation cannot provide them. As an illustrative example, some years ago, during my high school time at the Beheshti high school in Iran, there was a girl, called Sara, Sara had an allergy to mango. Sara’s new friend held a party for her birthday, serving a mango cake, not knowing about the possible-allergic reaction. In the beginning, everyone thought this would be a fantastic party but this was not true. Unfortunately, Sara had to go to the hospital upon eating the cake, and it was her worst birthday. Although the party was meant to strengthen their relationship, things did not go well due to the lack of knowledge. As one can see, to make strong relations, one needs much information about friends and information obtainment associated with the time.

Also, it is not presumptuous to judge another’s reliability according to the shared social activities. No man can ever truly understand an other’s mind-set, but a man can be more reliable after a certain of shared activities. Two people who appear comfortably talking may have spent the majority of their time together. There are times when a friend is more reliable than the family. My personal experiences are the foundation of my point. A person needs some reliable person to talk about sad experiences and the amount of spent time directly influences the friendship reinforcing that is imperative for reliability most of the time. Surely, it must be wiser to respect old relations than to deny that anyone needs a reliable person to endure hardship.

I am of the conviction that everyone needs strong relationships, people with whom you share a lot with, a reliable person. This is a personal suggestion and the effect benefits, communication skills and enduring sad times. Regarding the aforementioned reasons, I conclude that a longer relationship, with an older friend, is a better choice. All in all, a coin has two sides and an edge to connect them; so, we need new friends in the first place to achieve a longer friendship.