All parents want the best opportunity for their children. There are some people who think schools should teach children skills but others think having a huge range of subjects is better for a child's future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion?

Every parent dream and strive to give best of everything to their children, be it education, skills, ethics, etc. While some put a lot of emphasis on having multiple subjects, others weigh the skills more over literature.

I feel it is equally important to create a balance between bookish knowledge and extra cirricular activities. It is very important to know your roots, history, the surroundings, the civic science, etc. and to know all of this, the books are your best friend, thus, the necessity of various subjects. These days we see that schools are putting in a lot of effort to ensure every aspect which is required to groom an individual is been taken into consideration. Thereby, increasing the number of subjects, introducing a lot of new subjects and syllabus to address the need of different category of students.

On contrary, some parents and schools are more keen on banking on the skills of their children and student respectively. They would encourage the schools to focus more on the hidden talent or skill of their children and bring out the best of it. They want their children to be groomed on those skills and school should help them with the process. And we have seen many of private schools have included extra ciricular activities like sports, music, dance, painting, etc. as a part of their syllabus.

As per my opinion, parents should let their child decide if they want to be Einstein or Sachin Tendulkar. It is very important to give them a choice to select their career option. It is necessary to strive a balance between subject knowledge and skills. As they say, the future is unknown but one should always do what makes them happy.