Although abuses of the system are inevitable social welfare payments are essential to protect the rights citizens have to a guaranteed minimum income in a democratic society

In the current society, a democratic society needs to protect the resident by paying social welfare is under consideration. Social welfare is an essential element of an advanced society. The good system is always abused but that does not mean they are faulty.

On the one hand, the original purpose of this policy is to protect a group of people who are unable to earn basic living funds, such as single-parent, the disabled and the sick. Moreover, the unemployed also has the right to an income as they have paid in the past entitles them to assistance.

Meanwhile, this policy can help to reduce the crime rate. If the money is not available to make a living, people will commit crimes in order to survive. For instance, theft, robbery, etc. Crime increases not only dangerous but costly. Maintaining law and order requires the use of a large number of police and materials.

On the other hand, some citizens undermine the original meaning of the policy because of excessive reliance on this policy. For the unemployed who are able to work, this policy should only be a short-term help. However, they thought that they should be funded by the government, then they stopped looking for work. Over time, moreover, the labor force is lost, it will also increase government expenditure.

In my point of view, this policy can help people who are not able to work, but the government needs to take time to judge whether applicants have an urgent need to use this policy. Otherwise, it will only waste public money, and cannot help people in real need.