Although more and more people read the news on the internet, the newspaper will remain the most important source of news? Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Reading news over the internet versus newspaper is debatable. It is often argued that the newspaper will stay the primary source to get news compared to other means such as the internet. I partially agree with the statement, the newspaper will be one source of information, but the vital mode to get news would be the internet.

To start with, there are certain persuasive arguments why the newspaper will continue just one mode of information. The prime reason is that people of the old age group would like to read a newspaper as they don’t know how to run a computer via using the internet facility at home. The second reason is that the newspaper will be a cost-effective way to procure information, and it would cost approximately $1 per day instead of having a monthly subscription. Therefore, people would give preference to read the newspaper to avoid financial trouble at the month-end. A recent article suggests that 25% of newspaper sale has decreased in the last two years because young people have changed the trend to read news via the internet. The last reason is that it won’t harm the eyesight of the people as it has an easier print which is suitable to read on paper.

On the other hand, the internet would take over the newspaper shortlisted due to various reasons. Firstly, the internet provides 24/7 news and it covers a range of information across the globe which would enable people to know what is happening in a remote country like Panama while sitting on the other part of the world. Secondly, having internet facilities along with smartphones gives a quick notification to read emergency news such as earthquakes, terrorist attacks, and weather updates instead of waiting a whole day to get a copy of the newspaper. The third reason is that people would be busy in the coming years; therefore, they would prefer to read online news while completing their assigned tasks as a replacement to flip over one by one page.

In conclusion, although print media will continue as a key part to spread the news among old age groups as it would be cost-effective and less harmful, I presume the internet would be a prominent way forward for people to read the news as it provides super-fast, accessible and round the clock news.