In any field of endeavor it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field

It is often argues that once toddlers begin schooling, teachers have a higher chance of influencing their intellectual and social skills rather than parents. This essay totally disagrees with this statement because children spend more time at home and they do not have the same teachers throughout their whole academic life.

To begin with, children spend around 4 to 6 hours of their day at school and the rest of their time at home. Being constantly around their parents they look up to them and try to emulate them. Furthermore, since parents can give undivided attention, they have a major impact on the development of the child's cognitive and people skills. For instance, a group of teenagers, were asked who do they credit for shaping their lives, most of them replied their parents as they have grown up idolizing them.

The other reason is teachers keep changing but parents will always be the same. In other words, every class and every standard has a different teacher. It is also impossible to sway the children as the academic year is not very long. For example, once students move to university or college, each subject is taught by a different professor. Parents on the other hand will always be around and therefore effecting their mental and communication skills.

In conclusion, being continuously surrounded by parents due to spending most of their time at home and parents do not change, I do not think teachers stand a chance of influencing their students.