The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that pollution from vehicles have become huge environmental problems both in cities and on motorways everywhere. Solving these problems is likely to need more than a simple rise in the price of petrol.

While it is understandable that private car is one of the main courses of the increase in pollution, higher fuel costs are unlikely to limit the number of drivers for long. As this policy would also affect the cost of public transport, it would be very unpopular with everyone who needs to travel on the roads. But there are various other measures that could be implemented that would have a huge effect on these problems.

I think to tackle the the problem of pollution, cleaner fuels need to be developed. The technology is already available to produce electric cars that would be both quieter and cleaner to use. Persuading manufactures and travelers to adopt this new technology would be a more effective strategy for improving air quality, especially in cities.

In summary, I believe that increasing the level of taxation on fuel is at best a short-term solution to only one environmental problem. If we wish to provide a home for our children’s children, we should to find a long-term and lasting solution to them.