Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football. While other people think that taking part in individual sports is better, like tennis or swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are conflicting views regarding whether playing sports alone or with others will provide us more benefits. Both sides of this argument will be discussed in this essay, followed by my own opinion.

In one hand, those who think that individual sports have more benefits may have the following reasons. Firstly, compared to team sports which require all team members to convene at a specific time to train or compete, participation in individual sports is more flexible. This is because they allow people to decide when to play the sports based on their own needs, thus avoiding the restrictions which fixed schedules place. What is more, while playing sports alone, there is minimum distraction, which can enhance the honing of sports skills, whereas when playing with others, different personalities or habits may lead to misunderstandings and conflicts, preventing full enjoyment of the activity .

However, people who advocate team sports may also have reasonable justifications. It is clear that team members can learn about each others’ strengths which not only include performance skills but also include positive characteristics such as determination and perseverance. Furthermore, in team sports, participants have lots of chances to interact with each other, practicing important social skills like listening empathetically, resolving disputes and expressing their ideas clearly. All of these skills can be translated into interpersonal skills, which will help them build strong relationships in all fields, thus also improving their sense of belonging.

In my opinion, both types of sports bring different benefits depending on the needs of the individual engaging in them. For those who want to minimize distractions, individual sports are more suitable, while for those who are keen on improving their social skills, team sports would be a better choice.