The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that pollution from vehicles have become huge environmental problems both in cities and on motorways everywhere. Someone may think that the government should increase the price of fuel to solve this problem.

First of all, while it is understandable that private car is one of the main courses of the increase in pollution, higher fuel costs are likely to limit the number of drivers for long. The drivers would change their trip mode due to the high cost of the petrol. But as this policy would also affect the cost of public transport, the cost of the transportation will rise, so it would be very unpopular with everyone who needs to travel on the roads. Solving these problems is likely to need more than a simple rise in the price of petrol. However, the severe environmental disruption doesn’t just caused by the traffic and there are various other measures which could be implemented that would have a huge effect on these problems as well.

I think to tackle the the problem of pollution, cleaner fuels need to be developed. The technology is already available to produce electric cars that would be both quieter and cleaner to use. Persuading manufactures and travelers to adopt these new technologies would be a more effective strategy for improving air quality, especially in cities. On the other hand, the development of high speed also affect the environment. For example, the emission of the industrial wastes which discharged by the factories in the developing areas is another big environmental problem. The government official should concern about how to solve it as well.

In summary, I believe that increasing the level of taxation on fuel is only a short-term solution to just one environmental problem. If we wish to provide a home for our younger generation, we should to find a long-term and lasting solution to them.