The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental degradation is an alarming issue that we are facing and people are relentlessly proposing different measures to deal with it. One of which is to raise the fuel price and in my opinion, though being feasible it is far from being the best solution.

On the one hand, there are several reasons to believe that a higher fuel cost could alleviate environmental contamination. Firstly, the more expensive petrol, oil and gas become, the less people tend to use it excessively for daily demand such as commuting. This leads to a plunge in CO2 gas emission which, in return, curbs the global warming and gives way for a cleaner atmosphere. Secondly, additional revenue gained from the increased fuel price would enable the government to invest in various measures in order to reduce the amount of pollutants being discharged to the environment. For instance, more funds would be made availabe for either researches of eco-friendly and renewable energy sources or development of more advanced and efficient pullution treatment system and thereby, the environment can be protected.

On the other hand, I hold the perception that increasing the fuel price is not the most effective and efficient way to combat environmental issues. There are a number of culprits causing damages to the environment such as intensive farming, deforestation and illegal discharge of waste from manufacturing activities in which imposing higher fuel price has failed to address. Furthermore, in order to protect the environment, each individuals should maintain greener and kinder lifestyles to it by classifying wastes, making use of renewable energy and refraining from burning fossil fuel. Besides, governments are advised to hold campaigns to raise people’s awareness on the consequences their actions on the surrounding environment and therefore stimulate their early accountabilities on ameliorating enviromental contamination.

In conclusion, skyrocketing fuel cost, albeit protective and preventive, does not thoroughly resolve environmental issues. There exists other vital measures which are more effective and efficient.