The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn. Do you Agree or Disagree?

The advancement of the contemporary era has literally changed the definition of literacy. With rapid changes in technology, it has become necessary to adapt new skills and dump the obsolete. It is agreed that to stay relevant to the constantly changing environment one must not only know how to read and write but also need to know how to learn, unlearn, and relearn. This essay will discuss compelling reasons to accord with the rubric.

To start with, today inventions are changing the way we do things. For example, computers operating system started with pentium & recently its 10th upgrade was released which is known as ‘Windows 10. Those who learnt to use pentium 2 & 3 must unlearn that and relearn new windows to stay afloat in a Sea of changes. This exemplifies that latter is more important than the former.

Moreover, to stay relevant to next coming generation, it has become essential to continuously keep learning. For instance, for many youngsters, it has become common to keep in touch with their friends and extended families through social media. Those who do not learn to use it may get literally disconnected from this newly literate generation of learners and re-learners. This example clearly shows that to be known as a literate in this century one must repeatedly update their learning process.

This analysis proves that to be relevant to this era of regular inventions, embracing the change is the mantra of life. In a nutshell, those open to learn, unlearn and relearn will be the new literates. It is expected to remain like that in upcoming decades.