In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with

other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes

the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from

your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, In Britain, elderly people often go to stay in an old-age home, wherein there is taken by nurses. Sometimes the government takes care of the expenses. In this essay, I will discuss if the government or family should pay for this care. Firstly, I will explore reasons for why family should be taking up the responsibility of senior citizens and secondly, I will discuss pointers on why government should not be responsible for the same.

To begin with, people in today’s world come with a mentality that parents after retirement are nothing but a liability. But the reality is once our parents start to age and cannot work for their living, it is children’s duty to take up all the financial burden, as it is time for paying back. For instance, a baby in its younger age or in adulthood when demands for anything, these parents go an extra mile to make sure all the requirements of the child are fulfilled. Similarly, when our elder family is need of support, we should help them.

Additionally, quality of care is one of the important aspects that needs to be considered. If the government starts taking care of old-age homes, the quality of treatment, of life will be compromised as they have a lot of old people to look after. However, if the family manages to pay for monthly charges of such old age homes, the government will have less burden and hence, the people will also get quality life in their final years.

To summarize, in my opinion, once parents are old and not able to take care of themselves, it is their family’s responsibility to do so as they deserve this.