Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular.Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern era, technology has revolutionized the business and improved the services offered by various manufacturers. Nowadays, online purchase of various items like books, household goods, and air tickets has gained popularity. In my perspective, the merits of this trend have outshined its demerits. This essay will delve into both aspects with relevant example in support of my view.

Admittedly, there are a few drawbacks associated with online shopping. First and foremost is the security threat to the card or bank details which user has added for online transactions in their account. At present times, due to the increase in the instances of hacking these sensitive details are the primary target of hackers. For Instance, a survey conducted by the Financial Times reveals that 30 percent of the online shoppers were duped of money from their bank account because hackers have stolen information from the user's accounts on various shopping sites. Although such situations can be prevented, if certain security measures are adopted. Secondly, only images of articles are available online, so the quality of the product cannot be checked. However, this can be avoided if the consumer purchases the product of reputed brands.

On the contrary, there are numerous benefits also with the emergence of E-commerce. Nowadays, everyone has a busier life schedule and have not enough time to visit supermarkets for purchasing. Online shopping has made buying books, booking tickets, and paying bills online convenient. For example, supermarkets are taking orders online for groceries and booking train ticket is easy as compared to waiting in a queue at the railway station. Additionally, it is economical as many websites offer discounts, offers, and free shipping on ordering items online. To elucidate, research carried out by the Economic Times proved that the cost of items purchased online is 10 percent less than the cost offered by departmental stores.

In conclusion, there are few drawbacks of online shopping despite that its benefits cannot be ignored. So, I believe that the advantages of this trend preponderate over its disadvantages.