Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Nowadays, our ecosystem is suffering from the atrocious effects of increasing pollution levels which has already left many hazardous effects on the human race. Solar energy has gained its popularity in everyday life in numerous nations throughout the world. This essay will delve into both its merits such as clean source of energy and economical in cost, followed by an analysis on the demerits, namely dependency on climate and consume a lot of space.

On the constructive side, it has offered an alternative source of energy which is not causing any environmental deterioration and further helped in reducing the pollution levels. The other sources of energy such as motor generator to produce electricity has its detrimental effects on the earth. Furthermore, the cost of setting up the infrastructure for solar panels is less costly because government is promoting the use of solar energy by offering huge subsidies. For Instance, a study carried out by the Environmental Studies reveals that government is providing 50 percent discounts on the purchase of solar panels, and also its usage has conspicuously reduced the level of air pollutants. Hence, this form of energy has an imperative role in the preservation of our enviroment.

On the Contrary, the solar panel produce electricity from sunlight which make them dependent on the weather conditions. They are unable to reproduce the daily required amount of electricity in rainy or winter seasons due to the lack of sunlight. Additionally, solar panels consumes a lot of space because of their size. At present times, most of the population is residing in flats where the space is limited. For example, a research conducted by the Resource Ministry of India showed that a large section of society is still using motor generators for electricity in areas where the winter or rainy season is of longer duration and in apartments only 10 percent of population have installed solar panels due to the lack of adequate space. Therefore, scarcity of space and weather has its dependency on the success of this alternative source of energy.

In conclusion, one can conclude that solar energy is beneficial for environment conservation even though it need space for setting up the panels and its dependence on the climate conditions which cannot be neglected. So, I believe that the main reason behind its popularity is its low cost and environment friendly nature.