Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Currently, we can notice that the usage of unconventional sources of energy is gaining momentum. Particularly, solar energy is being used in every household. This essay will discuss the causes for the switch to solar power and the pros and cons of this transition.

First and foremost, the awareness among people, concerning environmental pollution, has increased in the last decade. This is because, the United Nations Organization and the various governments of the world have conducted innumerable campaigns promoting the benefits of energy derived from the sun. Moreover, taking this one step ahead, a number of nations have made adoption of solar energy mandatory. On top of these, authorities also provide subsidies to the public for mounting the equipment. Owing to this, solar energy has become a household name.

Considering the edges and drawbacks of this practice, on the positive side, it is a renewable energy. Consequently, it will not deplete like non-renewable resources. Furthermore, solar power is eco-friendly. Solar operated car, for instance, does not emit pollution causing carbon-monoxide. Additionally, unlike natural gas and coal, other than installation expenses, the user does not spend money repeatedly. Hence, it is cost- effective.

Contrarily, on the negative side, solar driven machines are not as productive as other devices that utilize conventional energy. For instance, solar operated vehicles cannot attain the speed of other motors making use of diesel. Over and above, predominantly, equipment such as; solar panels often occupy huge space and hence, they pose a major space constraint.

In a nutshell, effective steps taken by the national and international authorities have resulted in the popularity of solar power in many households across the world. However, like any other resource, even this one has its own advantages and disadvantages. Nevertheless, it is beneficial for the human race.