Even though globalization affects the world’s economies in a very positive way, its negative side should not be forgotten. Discuss.

Undeniably, the growth of the world economy has proved beneficial; although, its negative consequences are not ignorable. This essay will outline that globalization has the following advantages: reduction in poverty and increased mutual co-operation between countries whereas negative impacts on the environment and the domestic industries are the biggest disadvantages. However, this essay will discuss both views with relevant examples to illustrate my views.

Admittedly, globalization has resulted in the economic growth of numerous countries by reducing poverty levels. Nowadays, entrepreneurs from many western nations have shown their interest in the overseas market, such as India and China because they are the biggest consumers in the world. Since the last decade, huge investments are invested for the establishment of business's which has generated employment, consequently, reduced poverty. Additionally, the mutual co-operation on numerous issues among many nations have significantly increased because they are economically motivated. In present times, every nation has business ties with other countries, so any conflict between them can cause irreversible damage to their economic growth. Thus, the controversial matters are resolved by discussions and mutual understanding between them. For example, India and China have decade long disputes related to their international border despite that they came to an agreement due to their economic interest. Therefore, globalization has played an imperative role in alleviating impoverishment and promoted mutual co-operation.

On the contrary, it has negatively impacted our ecosystem because industries are growing at a rapid rate for maximizing the monetary benefits. The industrial sector has registered an uncontrolled expansion of the factory units across the globe since the last century; they use petroleum products to fulfill their energy needs, thereby causing water and air pollution at a massive scale. The elevated levels of pollution not only made water and air poisonous but also responsible for the elimination of many species of birds resulting in the disturbance of the food chain. Moreover, globalization has badly affected the small and mid-scale industry of a country because they are unable to compete with the products exported by foreign competitors. The domestic products are expensive because importing raw materials increase their manufacturing cost as compared to the firms from other nations, which provide economical products with advanced technology. These factors reduce the demand of the domestic product and the primary reason for the destruction of the local business. For Instance, Micromax has recently shut down its manufacturing units in India because a technology giant like Samsung has launched mobile phones with less price and the latest technology in India. Hence, globalization has a detrimental effect on the environment and national firms.

To summarize, globalization has reduced poverty and promoted co-operation in the international community even though its ramifications cannot be overlooked on the environment and local industries.