Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

t is becoming increasingly common for people to go online to buy what they need rather than going to a shop or travel agent to do so. Although there are some dangers and disadvantages to internet shopping, I believe that the convenience often outweighs any drawbacks.

There are two main dangers and disadvantages to buying things on the internet. The one that attracts the most publicity is the problem of internet fraud. Unless the website is secure, hackers may be able to copy your credit card details and steal your money. A further disadvantage is that you cannot examine what you are buying until after you have bought it. This means you may sometimes buy something that you do not really want.

On the other hand, shopping for certain things on the internet has several points in its favor. The main one is its convenience. People who want to compare products and prices can look at all this information on a website without having to go from shop to shop. Also, they can make their purchases at any time of day or night and from any part of the world. The other advantage is that because internet companies do not need a shop, the products which they sell are often cheaper.

All in all, I think that the advantages of using the Internet for buying things such as books, computers and air tickets are greater than the disadvantages. However, someone that wants to buy clothes should visit shops because they need to see and touch them before buying them, and I would recommend purchasing them online.