Children can learn effectively from watching television, which is why it should be encouraged at school and at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Although television programmes today telecast many educational contents most of these programmes are targeted for mature people and not children. Most of the children watch tv to see their favourite cartoon characters. Therefore, I disagree that children will be encouraged to use television as an educational tool for their studies.

Because many informative channels such as discovery, animal planet, BBC, and many more are available to watch, it does not guarantee that children will gain knowledge by watching them. In fact, kids are smarter these days if they are granted permission to view tv they will watch programmes that they like. For instance, children are addicted to cartoons and if they are not under parent’s supervision, they will watch only cartoons and sports channels, not watching channels that were intended to watch. Children consider a television as an entertainment device and not as an educational tool. Therefore, it is not advisable to shift the focus of children to change the learning process using televisions.

Secondly, when kids keep watching tv they stress a lot on their eyes and strain them a lot. Viewing television for long hours can cause severe eyesight problems and other health issues. For instance, a cousin of mine who is ten years old used to spend around eight hours a day watching tv and playing video games. Today at this young age he suffers from frequent headaches and is forced to wear glasses. Doctors recommend parents to restrict and impose strict timings for children watching tv. Kids must be encouraged to play outdoors so that they are physically fit.

To end there are channels that provide information and knowledge, but these can be useful for adults. children must learn in the traditional method by going to school. At school, apart from learning academically they can make friends and learn a lot of other helpful things which can help them in future.