As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this technological era, it is being argued by many that learning non-native languages are futile, as computers can promptly and correctly translate any language for us. I substantially disagree with this notion, despite computers being powerful translators, grasping new language enriches the skills of an individual, and help people bond better with the native speakers of the language.

Studying new languages offer numerous benefits such as enhancing thinking skills, promoting connectivity with the people speaking the same language. First and foremost, when people start engaging in learning new language, their mind become more open and receptive of new ideas. Furthermore, when people travel to another country and communicate with the locals in their language, it helps them in developing a relation with locals and understands their culture better. To add on, computers can never bring emotions in their translation, whereas humans can say a same sentence in different ways by adding emotional factor.

Although learning a language has various advantages, computer translators cannot be underestimated. one, not everyone has time and money to learn new languages. So, when people travel they can use translators to talk to the local residents, to enquire about the surroundings. Two, they can be helpful when people do not usually deal with foreign languages and need it rarely for some urgent work. However, aforementioned positives are fruitful only in time of emergency, when a person is helpless and cannot comprehend the meaning of a language. also, it is never assured that internet or technical devices are available everywhere when needed.

To conclude, advancement in computer technology can be used to translate one language to another, but it can never replace a human’s mind owing to the creativity and emotional touch added by the individuals.