Cricket has become more popular than the national sports in the sub-continental countries.

Cricket is a gentlemen’s game and it is originated in the United Kingdom. Although it is England's national game but people here in India and from other subcontinent countries like Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh follow this sport from the core of their hearts. How valued is this sport in sub-continent when compared to the national sport can be ascertained from a recent newspaper article where a contrasting comparison is being done among the prize money received by the man of the match of a cricket match and a hockey match. The difference is humongous, Rs 5 Lac in the case of cricket and a meagre sum of Rs 20,000 for the national sport.

The popularity of cricket in sub-continent can be linked to team's performance in this sport, apart from this sport sub-continent teams do not have any presence in the world arena. For instance, popular sports like football, basketball, golf and even hockey which are our national sport but we haven't won a world cup ever since the legendary Mr Dhyan Chand have left this sport. So fans tend to support their team only when the team is performing well, where they can have their idols to imitate.

The second reason I can make out pertains to a distant past when British ruled the sub-continent for around 200 years. At that point of time, the sub-continent didn't have its own identity. We have taken a lot of inspiration from that era e.g. our legal system, infrastructure design and even the sport of cricket. Even in those days British used to play cricket, it was then considered a sport of elite class and from there people from sub-continent develops a liking of this sport.

Even though after the declaration of independence, India adopted its own constitution, laws but the influence of British era is quite evidently visible. And the same is true for our national game as well, we declared hockey as our national sports but citizens of our country still have an inclination toward cricket more than any other sports.