Culture and traditions change from generation to generation. Why does this happen? What can be done to change it?

Traditional and cultural habits are constitutionally changing throughout the years. This essay discusses the reasons why these changes occur, and suggest some solutions to confront this situation.

To begin with, variation happens in any country's culture due to several factors. Firstly, the technological improvements the world has seen recently contributed to modification in citizens' behavior. For instance, family gatherings during local religious feasts in Egypt vanished owing to the presence of social media where people and their relatives could exchange greetings online instead of traditional assembly. Another reason leading to this change, is the influence of foreign cultures on the local populations which might make them acquire new traditions. The Halloween for instance, has been introduced to the middle east recently due to the cultural exchange with the western populations.

In addition, if these alterations were proved harmful to the future generations, a myriad of measures would have been taken to protect them. Initially, schools should play a leading role in protecting local traditions from disappearing by encouraging pupils to celebrate these customs. This can be exemplified by the holiday given to students in Egypt on the day of the Nile river which was celebrated by the ancient Egyptians thousand years ago. Furthermore, parents should remind their youngsters of the heritage left by their ancestors in order to help them cling to their traditions, and to avoid being negatively affected by foreign cultures. Thus, if young boys and girls felt proud of their culture and got attached to their traditions, their folklore would never undergo modifications.

In conclusion, local customs are undoubtedly changing owing to the rapid technological updates, and the influence of other cultures on the local folklore. However, schools and parents could cooperate in teaching the offspring the value of their heritage to ensure the continuity of their culture intact without being altered.