The cultures of many countries around the world becomes more similar than they used to be.

What are the reasons for this trend?

Is it positive or negative?

The expansion in business and tourism industry at global scale has made the world a global village where many nations are more identical in cultures compared to the past. In my opinion, I believe it is certainly a very positive shift but only to a certain extent as it has detrimental impact on cultural values and particularity which have made them unique in the first place.

The trend of cultural transfer becomes more aggressive after the industrialization when people started to migrate to different places all over the world. The rise of globalization, which has enabled people to interact with people from different cultural background for business purposes, acted as a prime catalyst to fuel the inter-culture interaction. Consequently, people started to explore various community all over the world, which has encouraged to adopt different traditions from these societies. Thus, without any realization, various nations became similar in cultures.

The cultural migration has surely strengthened the unity throughout the globe.

When people have same mentality, the chances of discrimination, which is major issue in many countries, reduce to a great extent. Moreover, multinational companies, which has business spread all over the globe will be benefitted because of similar culture throughout the world. For instance, Major companies invest around 50 million a year to improve quality of communication so that people from different background can communicate effectively. However, it is very dangerous to the individuality and originality, which is a beauty of the diverse culture. In addition, it has detrimental impact on tourism industry, which is only source of income for many nations, such as Nepal, because cultural diversity is a major attraction for many people. Thus, identical culture is nothing but a double-edged sword.

In conclusion, although cultural similarity motivates the world-wide unity, it is dangerous for individuality. Thus, people should be encouraged for multi-culture co-existence to make the world better place.