Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this? What measures can the international community take to meet this demand?

In this contemporary world, it is undoubtedly true that the need for food is rising globally. The majority of the countries, however, failed to increase food production due to two factors - drastic climate changes and overpopulation. However, this can be resolved with various measurements.

To begin with the explanation, there are a plethora of factors giving rise to the problem of food shortages. First and foremost, it is irrefutable that the population on the earth is increasing drastically which leads to shortening the cultivation lands of the farmers with the growth of residential areas. In fact, the world population is expected to increase from 8 billion to 9 billion by 2050. Moreover, global warming and climate changes like erosion, acid rain and depletion of the ozone layer have led to a decrease in food production. As per a survey conducted by Cambridge University, due to climate alteration, the food production ratio will be decreased by 25% in the next 5 years.

To counter this issue, various steps can be ensured for food production. Firstly, farmers should be provided more farming lands with the use of improved farming techniques. For instance, yield can be improved by using quality fertilizer and modern techniques called precision farming. Secondly, the government should take active participation with farmers by educating them to use the techniques and products. In addition to this, the international community should come forward to supply surplus foods from developed countries to poor countries at a reasonable price.

Agglomerating the discussion done above, it is evident that there are many causes such as population, global warming and so on. Nevertheless, if proper initiatives like educating the farmers to use modern techniques of farming are taken then this problem can be eliminated.