Demand for food is increasing worldwide.What is the cause of this?What measures can the international community take to make sure the supply of food is enough?

Food is the third most important thing for living beings to provide energy and development, maintain life, or stimulate growth after air and water. However, in this current contemporary society, the demand of food is increasing with a great pace. This essay will discuss the reasons why this is happening and put forward several solutions that international community can opt for this issue to curb the amount people discarded.

There are two major causes which tend to incline the demand of eatables. Firstly, the continuous growth in population is responsible for this issue. With rise in number of folks, the demand for staples also rises making it difficult for the farmers to grow crops on such a large scale to meet the needs of everyone. Secondly, the wastage of food on worldwide scale is proliferating nowadays due to lack of sufficient knowledge among people. For instance, food waste is very much common in the restaurants and cafes. People generally order the dishes they wish to eat but if they found it to be tasteless or not according to their taste, they just leave the food which gets discarded afterwards. Thus, these are the two main reasons behind the growing demand of food on a large scale.

However, tackling this issue involves the steps which the international community should take in order to ensure the adequate supply of food. At the very first step, it should provide sufficient land to the crop-growers so that they might be able to cultivate the crops on an extensive area and meet the needs of people. Moreover, farmers should be given proper mastery regarding the new techniques and tools which can help them to cultivate the land more effectively and increase their production. Also, people should be given ample of information by organizing seminars about food waste in order to make them understand about the unavailability of sufficient food. Thus, international community can take aforementioned steps to regulate the supply of food.

In conclusion, unless efforts are made, this problem will only escalate.