Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agr

Since a decade there has been a spike in supermarkets and in large shopping malls and fortune companies are ready to invest more and more. It is unarguable fact that, as a result of this trend many local businesses are finding it difficult to be in profit zone. However, this will not have a direct impact on death of local communities.

It is a well-established fact that, large shopping malls offer wide range of products at one place including international brands which makes shopping easy for end customer. However, there are good reasons why street business play a key role and they can still survive. Firstly, travelling to city center for malls could be both time consuming and expensive process. As a result, the need of local shops increases and people still depend on nearest shops for buying daily needs. For instance, no one would like to go for fancy malls to buy either vegetables or emergency medicines.

Secondly, it is the trust they built over the years by supplying quality products and by offering discounts. For example, in my area there is a family gold business which has been serving localities since decades. Apart from this, if either the product or service not up to the mark there is a person in front of us to question in nearby stores. Wherein, with supermarkets it won’t be the same. On top this, regional stores can offer some discounts and bargaining is always on the cards. By considering all these, buyers still prefer local communities.

To conclude, although supermarkets bought whole new dimension in shopping by providing all goods under one roof and giving the tough competition to local retail stores it never threatens the existence of local communities.