Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests and whether they are married or single Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful Others disagree Discuss both these v

Some people argue that it is inappropriate for HR managers or department heads to ask candidates the questions of hobbies or interests, or other personal information. While some of them indeed agree that it is a good action that you can learn more about the people who will probably be working with you in your organization. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and then give my own opinion.

Some people feel offended while being asking personal information at interviews, as they think there is nothing related to personal life in a job description that HR managers list on recruitment ads. If the candidates are invited to an interview, all questions are supposed to be work-related, such as whether the candidates can meet all requirements for the position, whether their abilities are matched. There are no such problems that a single person can solve yet a married one can’t.

Certainly, there are other people supporting that personal status will impact on their working performance eventually. If the candidates have common hobbies or interests with all the other existing employees, they perhaps have similar qualities or personalities, it is easier for newbies to fit in the group and perform well as expected. For example, Vodafone NZ books squash courts on Friday evenings for all the staff to play games or socialize with others at the bar. According to the HR’s statistics, the new employees who play squash are one week earlier to get the job on than them who don’t play. On one hand, squash players are fast learners, more targeted and focused on one point. On the other hand, it is certainly a chance to communicate with other people from different floors and departments, thus, they could have a relatively complete concept about the company and its culture.

In conclusion, HR managers have to consider one’s personal life through hobbies or interests or other aspects which may be factors affecting work performance for some positions. I, of course, agree with them asking questions, however, all the questions should be asked in a respectful and polite manner.