Employers sometimes ask people applying for job for personal information such as their hobbies and interests. And whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both this views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, misuse of personal information is quite common. However, it is a debatable question that whether employers should ask for personal data from the new joiners or not. It is commonly believed by many that it is relevant, while some other disagrees with this culture. This essay discusses both the views and present my opinion about the same.

To begin with, Sharing personal information with the employees is not always a bad decision. It is significant to know about your family history to decide, whether you could contribute your 100% efforts for the offered job or not. For example, a pregnant women or a single mom could not be considered a strong candidate in contrast to un unmarried girl. Moreover, sometimes your private information is necessary to examine the facilities to be provided to you by the organisation such as, medical insurance to the spouse or dependent visa for the family member.

On the contrary, it is not always wise to share to your personal details with the employees because, it is not an assurance that you will be selected. Hence, it is a big question to the organisations that what they do with shortlisted candidate's resumes and personal data, who are not selected. In a research conducted by Harvard University, it was found that fraudulent industry pay good amount for each personal record so that they generate duplicate Id cards and conduct crimes using fraud credentials.

In my opinion, employers should focus on academic details rather than personal details and providing personal details should be optional and should be sole decision of employees. In fact, the educational history and work experience is the one that could make a person productive and a valuable asset for any organisation. In future, when the candidate gets selected, then only he should provide complete background details about his family, hobbies and interest.

To conclude, personal information is each person's private details and it is an arguable topic employees should ask for them from the interviewees or not. Some organisation's genuinely needs your personal information to decide the amenities to be offered while some organisation do not keep the private data safe and secure and may pass this personal information to fraudsters. In my opinion, employers should consider academic and work experience related knowledge of the candidate and not his personal details.