Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the vie

In most parts of the world,employers nowadays, try to gain more personal information about a person who has applied for a job in their office. But is this advantageous for the proprietor or the company at large? Many people think that it is not at all worthy to ask such questions as it is not beneficial for anyone. However, I would like to cast doubt on this notion by providing the evidences and justifications.

To embark upon, marital status is an extremely important question to ask as it pertains to the efficiency of an employee. It is due to the fact that a bachelor person has less amount of responsibilities in contrast to the married man. Thus, he is more suitable for certain jobs. To reinforce my view point I would like to give an example of one of my friend who had been interviewed for the post of Chief Security Officer in a big bank. But when the interviewer came to know that he is married, he did not select him, saying that this job profile demands late night stay and it will not be feasible for a married person to do it regularly.

Moreover, questions regarding avocations and leisure pursuits plays a significant role as it is proven globally through several studies that people who have some hobbies or interests are more active, enthusiastic and most importantly healthy. Hence, they tend to focus far better on their work than their peers. For example in defense, candidates who like to exercise and go to gym are more preferred over other aspirants simply because they are more capable of running and doing other strenuous physical activities.

To elucidate, although, it is not always necessary to judge a person right on the basis of aforementioned criteria because sometimes people can go beyond their limitations to attain their goals. We have so many examples to support this statement. Nonetheless, I still believe, it is good to take these measures into consideration.