Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, recruiters do ask job seekers their personal interest, hobbies and their marital status. Some people are of the notion that it is irrelevant to ask while others are in favor of this practice and consider this information to be useful. I personally believe this information is helpful for an organization to hold. This essay will shed light on both the views.

To begin with, there are certain reasons why gathering extracurricular activities may help organizations selecting the right candidates for the opening positions. What it means is there are chances where an extra interests of an applying candidates may be a requirement of the job. For example, if the opening is about marketing in which employee has to travel for longer times, then it is correct to pick the person who loves traveling often and have no family dependencies back at home. Candidates who are married may not be suitable for this kind of job. Adding further, during the times of rewards and promotions, organizations can pick the correct type of appraisal for the candidate if they know more about the employee. For instance, a family person may deem for a family holiday package along with appraisal and not for an expensive materialistic award.

Conversely, people who disagree with this trend have their reason because of the authenticity of the information provided in the job letters. Candidates sometimes write false information and hobbies just to fill or impress the recruiters and certainly none of that information leaves any relevance to the job. To cite an instance, a recent survey in Huffington post states that only 40% of job seeking candidates genuinely fill these sections and rest of the people give false information just to finish the application form.

To sum up, while there are strong doubts about the correctness of the information provided about extra hobbies and status, I believe this information is of great help for the organization to find correct employees for the job and rewards them properly in the long run, if the information is genuine and authentic.