Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the vie

Applying for a job requires providing personal information as well as documentation. Even though recruiters may not be interested in candidates’ details personally at all, they have to ensure that they have proper records of candidates due to many federal rules and regulations. These records often include information like candidate’s marital status, language proficiency and hobbies, etc. In my opinion, all this information has major significance for the employers and should be provided to them.

Firstly, different organizations have distinguished norms and requirements and chose candidates based on them. To illustrate, some organization may not hire married people due to the job requirements (eg; night shifts) while others may not due to lack of English language proficiency. Hence, filling out the mandatory columns on the job application forms helps recruiters to select the suitable candidates for the interviews and this practice helps saving recruiter’s as well as the applicant’s time and effort.

Secondly, as we all provide our sensitive personal data to the recruiters, some people raise their concerns about these requirements, citing the security concerns. Their concerns are also not void and organizations have the responsibility to protect their personal data, so that it is not misused. The best practice to secure the data for organizations may be to delete e-applications and to shred physical applications which were rejected.

In essence, it can’t be said that some columns on a job application form are unnecessary as they all hold important value for the recruiters and help them to choose the correct candidates. However, organizations should ensure that they protect people personal data from going into wrong hands as breaching may cause harm to the candidates as well as to the reputation of that particular organization.