Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Access to a reliable and good quality health service is important for the people of any country. Developments in medical treatment and medical technology over the last few decades have seen the costs of health care rise making it un affordable to many people in the community. There are two reasons why a free health service should be available to all, namely the high cost of treatment and the government's duty to its people. I

Firstly, without government provision of free health care, the loss advantaged members of the community, such as the unemployed and the aged, would not be able to afford medical treatment. This situation would result in great suffering and further entrench the disadvantaged status of these groups. Secondly, the purpose of any government is to ensure the well being of its people. By providing a free health care service, the government would be directly attending to this duty.

The health care service should be organised in a way that caters for the needs of the population as a whole. This means that the government must priorities medical services. For example, there could be provision for free access to consultation with doctors as well as free access to general hospital care.

On the other hand, free access to more expensive and specialized treatments may need to have some restrictions due to the high costs involved.

In conclusion, free health care of a good overall quality is an important service for a government to provide because it has a duty to ensure that all people in the community are taken care of.