Every year more and more students choose to study online rather than attend classes on campus Why are students choosing to study online What can universities do to attract students back to campus

Studying online is becoming increasingly popular. Each year more students chose to study online instead of attending classes on campus. This essay will discuss why this is happening and offers proposed solutions for this issue.

Most university students prefer online classes due to their convenience. Instead of taking public transportation every day to attend classes at the university, the students may attend classes in the comfort of their homes. The latest research shows that although a few students may have accommodation inside the university campus, almost 85% of them would take at least one hour of the daily commute to attend their classes. Overall, online classes offer a huge advantage to students that live off-campus as they can attend classes wherever they are, whenever they want.

The secondary reason why students would prefer online classes is related to its effectiveness. New technologies in e-learning offered students extra options that are not available in traditional classes. For example, e-learning platforms allow students to repeat the parts that they do not understand. Every day new features are added to those learning platforms that allow the students to receive a more effective learning experience.

Universities might have a few solutions to overcome this online learning trend. Firstly, they might select fewer lectures on every subject to be broadcasted online. Secondly, they might offer more collaboration tools in classrooms that would attract the students to attend. Thirdly, they might increase office hours for teachers to give the students time to present their questions. All the above measures might be able to attract students back to class.

To summarize, e-learning, without any doubt have certain positive aspects that offer students more convenience and effectiveness. The educational institutions should recognize this and make necessary amendments to their programs and other regulations to attract more students to join their campuses.