The first smartphone was released in 1992. By the year 2020 there may be as many as 2.5 billion smartphones in the world.

The use of smartphone is decreasing our collective intelligence because we are reliant on the technology and not on our minds.

Do you agree or disagree.

Globally, smartphone usage has enormously increased in the past two decades. The use of this device is reducing our general knowledge because of our reliance of this new age technology. This essay will discuss in detail the reasons why I agree with this viewpoint.

First and foremost, smartphone applications have made us so dependent on these handheld devices. This means that we do not have to task our brain to get certain informations. Vocabulary Builder,for instance, is an application which helps us to boost our grammatical range and accuracy. Because this application is readily available on our cellphones, we do not memorise new words we learn but rather refer to it anytime we need to remember any word. This electronic gadget is bringing down our knowledge of doing things by ourselves.

Another point to consider is that watching do-it-yourself videos has made us rely on this device, instead of brainstorming ideas on our own. People are not relying on their own intellectual abilities in resolving minute issues. Rather,we now refer to this technology to perfom simple task. To illustrate this this, an auto technician would choose to watch a video on his mobile phone on how to fix a simple mechanical fault in a car rather than using his knowledge of the profession. Depending on this advance technology is making us lose the skills to do things on our own.

To conclude, smartphone use is decreasing us intellectually, under closer scrutiny it is true. In light of the above points, it is apparent that our reliance on these devices is making us less intelligent.