Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the last ten years, packed food consumption has increased dramatically. However, despite this growth, I strongly believe people should rely on food produced by farmers as it is considered fresh, cheaper and can contribute to boost the farmer’s wealth.

First, packed food items are not actually that much cheaper than local food items, due to shipping charge added to it. Some people predict ready made food items are easy to cook as it saves time, therefore, cost is not a major concern. While this is accepatale if you need food instantly, I would argue that only rich people can afford branded food items, though majority of population of the country is not rich , hence, local food would be preferred most.

Another factor is freshness. Although it is undeniable that packed food has similar taste like freshly cooked food. This is particularly true due to added flavor and preservatives it is kept artificially healthy. Moreover , for preserving food , special packaging is used which is made up of plastics mainly and hence, has detrimental effect to the environment . Consequently, garbage is produced more. However, local food can be served without special packing and are recently procured with full of required vitamins and minerals.

Finally, if people purchase from local food vendors then the turnover of farmers will increase significantly. Also, the majority of the population of our country constitutes farmer. Thus, it will help to elevate the economy with the more promising quality of the food.

In conclusion, the fact that local food ensures safety to the environment and it is healthier than preserved food means I believe that the consumption of prepared food items should be avoided.