Formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries. Why are these exams used by schools and universities? What other types of assessment are possible?

Nowadays, students are evaluated on the basis of official examinations at the end of each academic term across the world. Schools and universities have been using these exams in order to examine what students have studied throughout the year. However, there are other ways that can be introduced to determine academic level of students such as conducting debates or taking presentations.

The students are usually assessed by educational institutions via the examinations so as to infer the degree of understanding of the course learnt during a semester. This way the administration gets aware of how the method of teaching can be improved so as to make the students learn more about the subject. For e.g. the students who are weak in grasping some subjects are given additional classes during the mid-term breaks. This way the professors form a basic idea of how their students are progressing. Therefore, the conventional method of examining students using the semester tests holds utmost relevance across schools and universities.

Even though formal examinations are used for evaluation, other assessment methods such as a formal discussion about the subject or presentation of certain topics can be used. This would allow students to gain practical knowledge by doing some research on their own. For instance, the universities conduct presentations for the graduation students to understand their knowledge about the subject in one of the semesters. This assessment method can be considered an epitome of evaluation as it provides skills to students to learn topics on their own.

In conclusion, the global assessment method for evaluating students has been to conduct formal examinations. Although, the learning institutions use this method to assess their students, there are other ways as well by which the students can be examined.