In general people do not have a such a close relationship with their neighbors as they did in the past. Why this is so and what can be done to improve contacts with neighbors.

I agree to the fact that the relationships between neighbors are no-longer close as it used to be in the past. In metropolitan cities, where people are occupied with their job commitments, it becomes difficult to get into such relationships with your next door neighbors. Whereas, in smaller cities or towns, neighbors still interact with each other on a daily basis. They do share their happiness and sorrows with their neighbors. Due to this frequent interactions, the neighbors become your family friends and will be the first one to come to your rescue when you are in dire state.

Further, now-a-days in metropolitan cities, there is a trend of living in housing societies. These societies provide a common dwelling place for people from different walks of life. In these communities, people celebrate their joy and sad times together. People come together to celebrate festivals as well. This helps them in their behavior development.

To add to above, local welfare associations can arrange for a common platform for people to interact and share their knowledge and experiences. For example, a sports days for people living in a community. This will induce social responsibility and respect for fellow humans as well as keeping them healthy.

Moreover, as we all know man is a social animal. He needs society for his mental and emotional growth. In today's fast moving lives, people seldom talk and meet their neighbors. This hampers their mental growth and they can go into depression. To avoid such circumstances, being social is a must.

In the end, i will like to say that human power is superior to everything as man is God's best invention. So, we should work towards preserving and nurturing this invention by meeting people on a daily basis.