Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

These days, government spends some money from budget not only in public services but also in arts such as theater and music. Although, it is certainly true that spending on public services is essential but investing in arts in definitely not a waste of money.

There are several reasons for spending a significant amount from government budget on public services. First and foremost, public services defines the quality of life, inasmuch as, it includes schools, hospitals, and even roads. For instance, if there will be no adequate hospital services then that would be very catastrophic situation. Similarly, if not enough money spent on schools, our children may not be properly educated. It will affect the poor most as they are the one who are mostly dependent on these services.

Nevertheless, this does not mean arts should be neglected. To begin with, mostly it is hard for arts institutions to generate the revenue, so little help from government would be appreciated. In addition, in this fast pace and stressful lifestyle arts acts as an entertainment, hence it cannot be avoided. So, not to forget, arts also have an important impact on our quality of life. Many people get great pleasure in seeing movies and listening to the music, ergo government ought to give subsidies to arts institutions so they could continue to entertain people.

To sum up, there are plenty benefits to put money into public services, which is advantageous for all of us. That said, investing money in arts is not at all waste of money for aforementioned reasons.