Nowadays, animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because of its morally wrong to cause animal to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The argument over the use of animal experiments for medical purposes has not been settled yet, even though it has several benefits. However, many animal right extremists and animal lovers are totally opposing the idea saying it is inhuman and unnecessary. In this essay both sides will be discussed and opinion will be given.

It is commonly stated by scientists that animals have played a vital role in researching plenty of medicines. Scientists have proved that, most of the animals’ genes are very much similar to human being, that helps to predict the potential effect of certain medicines on human body. Not to forget, the inventions of drugs for diseases like TB, polio, cancer and meningitis etc., exemplifies the experimental use of animals in pharmaceutical. Moreover, proponents argue that mostly animals do not get hurt, instead, they get cured. The above facts show the necessity of animal experiments in medical research.

On the other hand, it is proclaimed by opponents that this act is not only cruel but also against the moral ethics. Every living being has right to live, stated by many animal lovers. It is also often believed by them that the pain animal go through is immense, which is unnecessary when there are other options. Last but not the least important thing advocated by them is, despite the similarities are there in humans and animals, there are significant differences too, which cannot be neglected. And, that is why some diseases are may not be as harmful as for animals compared to humans. These point show the irrelevance of animal experiments in pharmaceutical research.

To sum up, in my opinion, there ought to be control and limitation on use of animals in research, and also other alternatives should be taken into considerations.