Fewer and fewer people walk daily.

What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

Undoubtedly, because of the rapid development of the technology the standard of living has been changed. That is why in this fast pace world people are less likely to walk regularly. This essay will discuss the causes and the measures which could be taken to come over this situation.

There are several reasons behind this situation, thanks to technology improvement. First, there has been decline in walking is because of the advancement in the transportation, which enables individuals to either choose public transport or drive their own vehicle to the destination. Not to mention the time individual saves by taking one of the fast commuting option. Besides, people have very busy and tiring lifestyle these days. Many of the professionals spend their most of the time in office, that is to say less time for doing any overexerting activity like walking.

On the other hand, it is imperative to encourage people to walk daily for their well-being. First of all, governments should develop and enact some laws or policies which will control the use of vehicle. For example, they can impose heavy tariff on petrol and also can raise public transport fares, which could significantly increase the popularity of active commuting such as walking. Furthermore, more public funds ought to be used for the construction and maintenance of footpaths, to provide attractive and safe walkways. Also, in schools, spreading awareness of benefits of daily walk would help educating kids at such a small age. Consequently, they would follow it in their later life.

In summary, it is certainly true that because of the enhancement in transportation and intense workload there is a dramatic decline in walking on regular basis. However, there are some actions can be taken to encourage individuals to walk daily.